Episode 8: How to Find Books


Listen here.


Award Lists

  • Association for Library Service for Children (ALSC) Award List Database
  • Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) Book Awards
  • You can download lists of each of the awards at the pages linked as well as learn more about their criteria.
  • Caldecott Medal: awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • Newbery Medal: awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • Geisel Award: given annually (beginning in 2006) to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.
  • Pura Belpré Award: presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
  • Sibert Award: honors the most distinguished informational book published in English in the preceding year for its significant contribution to children’s literature.
  • Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production: annual award will be given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States
  • Coretta Scott King Book Awards: annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience.  Further, the Award encourages the artistic expression of the black experience via literature and the graphic arts in biographical, social, and historical treatments by African American authors and illustrators.
  • Stonewall Book Awards: are presented to English language books that have exceptional merit relating to the LGBTQIA+ experience.
  • Mildred L. Batchelder Award: is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.
  • Notable Children’s Books: Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best of children’s books on the Notable Children’s Books list.

Other resources

If you want to know how bad those Columbus book illustrations were here you go:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s